Why Romania and Bulgaria Should Be Added To Your Euro Trip

To be honest, Romania and Bulgaria were never high on my ‘must travel to’ list. However, as I crossed the border from Moldova into Romania, I was instantly taken back by its breath taking beauty. Rolling hills of greenery, tiny colorful villages on cliff faces and rivers entwining their way through the hidden valleys.

Two countries I knew so little about, with images of gypsies wondering in sparkly clothes and flowing skirts, oh and of course vampires. I sat in cars hitch hiking as we drove our way winding through the towering mountains and green all around me. I sat in ore, the most beautiful countries I have ever visited flashing past me. Even getting dropped in the middle of a high way in Bulgaria and forced to walk 3km with my heavy backpack didn’t faze me with these surroundings. We walked through what felt like an enchanted forest, right next to a busy freeway and major city, with a river flowing on the other side of me.

Not only is the wild life breathtaking, the capital of Romania, Bucharest, was one of the most beautiful cities I have visited. A old European town with cobble streets, curvy and confusing with small cafes and restaurants. People sitting around enjoying the spring weather, drinking coffee and cocktails at all hours of the day and smiling in the sunshine.

The parks in Bucharest are the best I’ve ever seen, they’re incredibly large and a mini enchanted forest in the middle of a capital city. Lots of trees, fountains, hills and places to sit and admire the nature, exercise or have a picnic. I highly recommend all.

The street food is also incredible, there are small bakeries all through the towns with tasty fresh buns and rolls for really cheap. I sadly didn’t get enough time to explore more of these beautiful countries, but the short amount of time I had here made me eager to race back and see more.

There are little tourists in these two amazing countries, they’re cheap and just as, if not more, beautiful than the jam packed tourist spots of popular Western Europe. If you’re planning a European holiday, defiantly adventure east to either country, and you will not be disappointed.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. simonjkyte says:

    I have been to Bulgaria and now Romania is next on the list

    Like

    1. Amazing! I didn’t get to see much of Bulgaria but the old Soviet monument, I’m so excited to go back though! Enjoy Romania it’s absolutely beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. simonjkyte says:

        i recommend the museum at vratsa

        Like

  2. Reblogged this on All Things Romania and commented:
    Bucharest really is beautiful!

    Like

  3. Wow it looks beautiful! Great photos! Thanks for the tip, I’ll definitely have to consider going to these places! 😀

    Like

  4. risabuzatova says:

    I haven’t been to Romania, but I’ve traveled and lived in Bulgaria. The country should definitely be on many more travel lists – though I suppose as it is means Bulgaria is far less crowded for those of us in the know.

    Like

    1. True! One of the great things about these countries is the lack of tourists!

      Like

Leave a Reply

