The Amalfi Coast

Usually, when you have extremely high expectations of a place, it’s very unlikely that they ever meet up with them. The Amalfi coast, however, did.

The Amalfi Coast has been written on my sticky notes on my computer under ‘places to travel to’ since I can remember, so when I booked a ticket to Europe a year ago I was determined to visit.

Growing closer to the due date I got a little hesitant, as other places I had dreamed of visiting let me down a little. I think I’ve written enough about the places I disliked and the surprise countries I loved, but its safe to say this set me up to rethink my whole perspective on travel and the countries I longed to visit. However, the coastline of this famous part of Europe definitely deserves all the praise it gets.


1194.JPG
We spent three nights camping in the town Sorrento, one of the most beautiful paid camp sights I’ve ever stayed in, overlooking the cliff face that stumbles down to the bright blue ocean at our doorstep. From Sorrento, we took day trips along the windy and beautiful drive through to the town of Amalfi. The old town of Amalfi was a beautiful place to explore, eat ice cream and listen to live music. The old church at the top overlooking the whole of old town is definitely worth a visit, one of the most beautiful churches we have visited. However, the waterfront wasn’t the most beautiful I have seen along the Amalfi coast, so if you are thinking of staying anywhere I wouldn’t recommend here.

The following day we took the bus to the town of Positano, which I personally think is far more beautiful. The hill down is a steep decline to the waterfront, a long and tiring walk through small alleys and colorful houses make the warm clear water at the end even more rewarding. Even the swarm of tourists here wasn’t enough to deter me, sitting on the warm beach and looking back at the hill of colorful houses is one incredible sight. Probably one of the most beautiful towns I’ve visited I cannot recommend this place more. If you are looking for a town to stay in a bit smaller than Sorrento I would highly recommend this town, and worth a day trip.

One annoying thing about this coastline is the buses. Even in the slower seasons, the line to get on the bus can take hours. We met some kids who were waiting for the 5th bus to come, after getting denied by each over packed smelling bus. If you aren’t at the starting point in Amalfi, it is almost impossible to get on a bus going home, as the buses fill up quickly. We had heard hitchhiking was near impossible in Italy, but we didn’t want to wait hours for a crowded bus. Turns out, hitchhiking isn’t hard at all and we managed to score a few rides that took us back to Sorrento, leaving the long hour wait line behind us. So just keep this in mind and don’t have any reservations or trains booked to get back to because it’s highly likely you’ll miss it.

HINT:

In Sorrento, the bus to leave to Amalfi leaves quite frequently and is located right next to the train station. There’s a small box office set up where some locals try and sell you a 24hour ticket for 8EURO when you can buy a one-way ticket for 1. Unless you plan on making multiple trips in 24 hours it isn’t worth buying this ticket.

Leave a Reply

