A Little About Me


I’m a 24 year old travel blogger from Adelaide, Australia. I’m just about to graduate University at the end of this year with a degree in Journalism and Creative Writing and hoping to combine my love of writing with my love of travel. I’m not going to sit here and tell you the typical ‘how I dropped out of a course in finance, sold everything I owned, booked a ticket and never looked back’ spill. It was actually quite the opposite.

I finished school in 2009 and spent my first ‘gap year’ working 50 hour weeks to save up enough money to take my first ever over seas trip. With my two best friends I did a road trip around Scotland and traveled to London and Paris.

Five weeks was enough to have me hooked, and when I returned home to start studying, I wasn’t pleased. Instead, I dropped out of the management course I was enrolled in at TAFE and moved to Darwin to house sit for my cousin while he was overseas. I was only meant to stay for a month, but ended up getting two jobs I loved, made some awesome friends and fell in love with the Top End of Australia. I stayed for ten months, and then left to travel the West Coast of Australia with a friend.

Traveling in a van was amazing fun, and I took to this new life style quite quickly. Two weeks in we arrived in Broome, and I was obsessed with this small beach side town. One night ended up being two years, I worked various jobs, rented with some friends in a crazy fun house full of nine people and at one time five dogs and a cat and met my boyfriend, Tyral.

From there, after my friend had left to return home, me and Tyral traveled the West Coast together, spending almost a month exploring the untouched wonders of one of the best kept secrets in the world. Living in a van was one of the greatest experiences of my life, there’s nothing like the freedom you feel having no obligations, waking up with the sun, choosing a perfect part on the coast to park and sleep, laying under the stars and cooking off a bonfire. (Read about it here)

Once we made it to Perth, we potted around hanging out in libraries and trying to figure out what to do next. Tyral was planning on leaving for a trip of a life time overseas, he planned to travel from Australia around the world without flying, and so Lost Aussie was born. But what was I going to do? I had no money, no home and no clue what to do next. After a week hanging out in bean bags in one of the coolest libraries I have ever been too, I started researching University degrees. It had never been in my plan to go to uni, I hated high school and didn’t feel like I was smart enough for uni. Besides, if I went what the hell would I study? I started researching degrees and writing a list of my interests. I kept coming back my love for words, and the idea of journalism came to me. I was reluctant of journalism because I knew I didn’t want to work for a huge newspaper, but I knew this was a step in the direction I wanted to go.

So I enrolled in the course and a week later I flew home to Adelaide after two and a half years away.

Living back in Adelaide was the biggest challenge, I found it harder to adjust than moving to a completely random town and starting new. I landed a job in a clothing store a few days after arrival and I think if it weren’t for that I wouldn’t have lated the two years. I made some of the greatest friends here who kept me grounded.

After my first semester of uni and working two jobs I decided I would reward myself with my first solo backpacking adventure through South East Asia. Alone I traveled through Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia. This was an amazing experience for me, I learnt so much about myself and it rekindled my love for travel.

It was also just what I needed to get through the next year of uni.

Tyral had left Australia over six months ago by now and made his way to Asia. So, I dusted off the backpack and flew to Thailand to see him. Together we traveled through Thailand and Laos for a month, read about my adventure here.

During this time I had applied for an uni exchange to Copenhagen, Denmark, for the second semester of 2015. Back in Adelaide I was straight back to full time work while also studying, to save up for my upcoming Europe trip. I got to travel a lot during uni, not because I was lucky, but because I worked extremely hard for it. Every semester I was at uni I worked full time, if not more hours, in order to save up enough to travel.

In July 2015 I packed up my life and moved to the other side of the world, to a little country I knew hardly anything about, Denmark. For information on my exchange see here.

In January 2016 me and Tyral, who spent Christmas and new years with me in Copenhagen, packed up and started to explore Europe. Together we traveled through Swede, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Belarus, Ukraine, Moldova, Transnistria, Romania, Bulgaria, Turkey, Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Italy and France. We budget traveled, using hitch hiking as our main source of transport and couch surfing most nights.

I write my blog mainly just for my mum to keep up with my travels, but I want help at least one person with some silly tip like carriing pantie liners (travel tips). There are so many female travel bloggers out there, but I feel like many are so glamorous and don’t tell you the nitty gritty behind back packing. I want to share with you my experiences of couch surfing, working on farms through work away and hitch hiking.

I’m currently back home to complete my final semester of Uni, but still trying to keep up with my blog in between assignments and saving for my next trip.

So have a surf, have a read and feel free to contact me below!

Light and love, Hannah Rose

 

Contact: hannah.altschwager@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s